Date today: 05.04.2020  |  Name days: Vidaga, Aivija, Vija

Bishops' Conference of Latvia

Bishops' Conference of Latvia unites the bishops of Latvia who jointly carry out pastoral ministry in favor of the faithful using forms and means of apostolate suitable for the particular time and place.

It was established on 15 November 1997 and includes four dioceses: Riga, Liepaja, Jelgava and Rezekne-Aglona. Since 18 December 2018 the president of Bishops' Conference of Latvia is Viktors Stulpins, bishop of Liepaja.

On 18 October 2011 Commission for Liturgy was established and as its chairman was elected Edvards Pavlovskis, bishop of Jelgava, but since December 18, year 2018, as its chairman was elected Jānis Bulis, bishop of Rezekne-Aglona . It is the only commision established by the Bishops' Conference of Latvia. 

Bishops' Conference of Latvia

M. Pils iela 2a
Riga, LV-1050
Phone: +371 67220775
Fax: +371 67820274


The first Bishops' Conference of Latvia was held on 29 June 1998 in Aglona. As its first president was elected metropolitan archbishop of Riga Jānis Pujats.

On 1 June 2011 as its next president was elected bishop of Jelgava Antons Justs

On 18 October 2011 – as Conference's president was elected bishop of Rezekne-Aglona Jānis Bulis.

 On 18 December 2018 - as Conference's president was elected bishop of Liepaja Viktors Stulpins